Reprising :: A Surprise Dinner Date Adventure

Greetings all,

Many of you will recall how I’m going back to most of my earliest stories, those about growing up in Petaluma and my life after,  to apply all the things I’ve learned about publishing great stories, a stronger degree of editing and word-crafting.

This story mostly took place inside my own head but the problem was there was a real person, an attractive innocent gal right there in front of me who I valued as a friend and the disaster before us was well in sight. My challenge was to find a way to avoid injuring someone I cared about – with only the mind and vocabulary of a young man barely out of high school dealing with a topic, that several decades later think I’d still struggle with. At best, I might be more clever about ripping off the bandage. .

Guys – this story may have happened to you. I sorta hope so, because it proved to help me grow up more thoughtful.  Gals – I hope you never had to play the gals side of this story, but given how romantic relationships often work – I’ll bet you too found yourself riding this boat and facing the same floating version of a train wreck.

This story is fully rewritten, expanded and reedited  It’s far below the 3000 word, 10-minute reading limit, that all of my I Recall stories adhere to.

Click here to read: A Surprise Dinner Date

Photo by David Hurley on Unsplash

GW bio card 4

Leave a comment